Apologies for the recent hiatus…

About 7 years ago, I began a Master’s dissertation on ‘Intentional Communities’, with Madge Karecki (UNISA) as supervisor. It ran out of steam partly because I had so little to go on by way of local examples.

In view of the seemingly renewed interest in modern monasticism, I’m giving it another shot this year – this time with Philippe Denis (UKZN) as my guide.

Prof Denis is a church historian with a particular interest in oral history. He’s also a Dominican, and so brings with him (like Karecki) a heritage of Catholic monasticism.

The (rather unoriginal) working title is ‘The New Monastic Movement in South Africa’. It might be interesting to blog my progress as it happens.

I’d really appreciate input on any aspect of the project, so don’t be shy to comment!

