what an adventure following your adventure, Julian – thank you for recording your experiences. I’ve probably missed a few episodes that I’ll request later on.
In the meantime, I embark on a two week tour of intentional communities in KwaZulu-Natal. Your two categories, economics and education, will be good filters through which to view them!

emerging communities · ancient roots

Odometer reading at the end of the tour: 5037.4 miles.

Yes, I am home! In fact, I arrived in Collegeville, Minnesota, a month ago. I’ve refrained from telling you until now because my brain has felt like it’s just been abruptly removed from a washing machine. I’ve wanted to say something that might sum up the journey but my thoughts have been rapidly moving targets, and any attempt to pin down a coherent perspective quickly bursts into a kaleidoscope of fluid impressions. I originally intended this month before my last semester of theological studies to be one of thoughtful reflection on what I’ve gleaned over this tour of communities. I’ve found instead that the best I can do is to let the psychic tumult, after bringing 14 months of living on the road to a sudden halt, to settle by itself, without my interference, into patterns of understanding, and questions…

View original post 1,240 more words

